My World

Just a place for my thoughts and views…..

My Bucket List

with 8 comments

Sitting at the office today and doing the daily mundane task of doing some patch work in the code, the thought of creating myself a bucket list strikes. “What I want to do before I die” – Had never given a thought on this but I have a few things which I want to do atleast once in my lifetime.

1. Donating Blood – Whenever there has been a blood donation camp organized in and around my place, I have always put forward my steps to be a donor of the blood. But the moment I enter the camp, the doctor/nurse give me a disappointed look. Atleast I am able to pass the weight requirement(min 45kg). But I fail to pass the blood test and I am out of the blood donation camp with a paper stating that I am “Anaemic” . Atleast once in my lifetime, I want to be in a position to return from the camp with not a paper but with a juice or snacks after the blood donation. 🙂

2. Solo Trip – Just want to make a trip to somewhere all alone. Want to experience the fun of the solo trip to an unknown land.

3. Try my foot at Dance once – When I was a 6year old, my mom made me go for the Kathak classes. Always dug into books, I was too disinterested in any of these extracurricular activities. Still managed to somehow learn for 6 months and when the time for the exams came, left it. One of my school teacher always  used to embarrass me in front of the class stating that “I am good-for-nothing”  so much, that I had to participate forcefully in the dance shows. But I always used to choose the one where I don’t have to do much of those steps. After entering into the college, somehow the interest aroused and joined the Aerobic dance classes and then Bharatnatyam classes for a few days till the interest was there. And as usual it was not there for too long.  Again this desire to dance has somehow kindled  and I want to learn any one- be it western or classical 🙂

4. Fly and Fly High – I want to fly high and high in the open sky and enjoy the view of the earth from up above. Want to enjoy the adventurous experience of paragliding once.

5. Be an author of autobiography – Would love to write a book on my life, though I don’t have any great experiences to tell. But it will capture all the happy and sad moments of my life, my thoughts, all the people who form an important part of my life. Also, will capture all the unspoken words to them so that they know how important they are to me.

6.  Cruise – Another expensive item in my bucket list. Want to have a cruise experience once. In the ship, with “water, water everywhere and not a drop to drink” and enjoying the blue sky above with the blue or green ocean around. Can’t imagine how the experience would be.

7. Stay at a countryside serene beautiful silent place – This one seems like a retired person wanting to get away from all the worldly affairs. I have come across such serene and silent place during the trips to different places. Would love settle down in one of those atleast for sometime.

8. Adopting a child – The last item as of now in the bucket list is to adopt a child. I am not sure why I want to do that but its one of the items in my bucket list.

Ok, so now I have jotted down my bucket list items. Need to checkoff the items in my bucket list one by one and add more. Though most of the above doesn’t seem to be crossed off from my list in the near future.

“Get busy living or get busy dying”!!!

Written by Priyanka Varma

July 29, 2009 at 6:03 pm

Posted in General, life

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have done few from the list. Few more to go. 🙂

    But, Whishing you all the best in achieving these tasks!

    MKen_

    July 30, 2009 at 4:10 am

  2. Mast hai. Enjoy your life 🙂

    Ram Kumar

    July 30, 2009 at 4:38 am

  3. very nice and exciting blog…. liked it very much ….

    Once you write the “Autobiography” let me know….. I want to read…or at lease get it reviewed by me…lol..:)

    keep enjoying your life…. 🙂

    Adarsh

    July 30, 2009 at 5:03 pm

  4. Great list you have there. Good luck…try putting yourself on the bone marrow registry (it’s a simple swab in the cheek). I did that about 2 years ago after it was on my list and I actually became a match and donated!

    Cy

    August 20, 2009 at 9:52 pm

  5. I have a bucket list too! So far it has 158 goals on it, I am working my way to 1000. My favorites are ‘Milk a Cow’, ‘Ride a Zipline’ and ‘Make a Coloring Book’.
    You can see my list at http://www.mslistologist.com
    Good Luck!!

    Annette Renee White

    December 30, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  6. Interesting list!…Even i dream of writing my autobiography one day. Good luck with your bucket list. I like the fact that u post out of passion and not compulsion.

    Regards,
    The Salesman

    The Salesman

    January 9, 2010 at 5:43 pm

  7. I created a site where you can share your bucket list.

    http://www.sharebuckets.com

    Let me know what you think.

    Kham

    April 14, 2010 at 4:02 am

  8. interesting list….solo traveling will certainly be a satisfactory experience…try it…a long trip to somewhere in north east…

    Rahul

    September 10, 2011 at 10:19 am


Leave a Reply

