My World

Just a place for my thoughts and views…..

The Gift !!!

with 12 comments

“Thank you Sister” were the words of an 11 year old girl named Abhirami.  I couldn’t guess what the words were for and asked her. “I got an A grade and my sister got A+ grade in English. Thank you Sister!!! “. And just a day before that I was pondering on the question “Is it really helping with what or how we are doing with the kids “. I am not sure whether her grade was a direct result of our teaching as I am not even aware of last year result. But the words were enough to motivate you.

And 2 days after that when I went to the place (Desire Society) she was again there telling me in Kannada ” Sister I want to learn more and more English. Also teach me Hindi” and there she came with an English story book and Hindi notebook ready to learn everything. The way she told reflected her crave for learning.

The change might be slow and gradual but there was a change – an interest kindling to learn something, a curiosity to know more about things around them.

This gift was not enough for the day. There was another gift also which I received from a 4-year old girl Ganga. As soon as I had entered the gate she seemed to be waiting for me and called me “Sister Banni(Kannada word for Come)”. I followed her small footsteps and she sat on the stairs asking me to sit. And gave me a flower carefully wrapped in a piece of paper and an Eclairs with a white piece of cloth calling it a handkerchief. Another Smile for the day :).

🙂

May be I am not able to express my feelings in my words. But sometimes when not everything is going good with you or you are not satisfied with what you are doing the small things like this give you a smile on your face and the motivation which you need to move ahead.

Written by Priyanka Varma

April 18, 2011 at 6:33 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Link to desire society is broken. Feel free to delete this comment after correcting it.
    Wish you good luck, Viral

    Viral Sachde

    April 18, 2011 at 7:08 am

  2. beautiful. as usual 🙂

    ujj

    April 18, 2011 at 7:30 am

  3. 🙂

    Jeeta

    April 18, 2011 at 8:06 am

  4. Wonderful…made me smile in my heart.

    deponti

    April 18, 2011 at 11:59 am

  5. You deserve that beautiful gift and many more di 🙂

    kharviprathima

    April 18, 2011 at 3:03 pm

  6. Nice one Priyanka….m really proud of u 🙂

    Ellora

    April 18, 2011 at 5:34 pm

  7. Thanks All 🙂

    Priyanka Varma

    April 19, 2011 at 2:24 am

  8. Great Work Priyanka….And best wishes to Abhirami and her sister…I am sure it was a combined effort and keep the good work going!!

    itnatureclub

    April 19, 2011 at 6:13 am

  9. 🙂

    Kunjal

    May 27, 2011 at 8:52 am

  10. Thanks for sharing your experience. Helped me to go ahead and support Desire Society with donation
    -Raj

    Raj

    May 31, 2012 at 3:58 pm


Leave a Reply

