My World

Just a place for my thoughts and views…..

Pani Puri, Golgappa, Phuchka – Memories around it !!!

with 13 comments

I was sitting at my home flipping through a book and enjoying the nice rain when suddenly a temptation to eat something ‘chatpata‘ made my taste buds restless. Keeping the book aside my foodie soul woke up and placed floating images of ‘garam pakoda‘, ‘samosa‘ in front of my eyes. Seeing those mouth watering images the eyes gleamed, but I was in no mood to cook for myself. So I consoled my foodie soul and was back to my book.

But the taste buds were really getting restless and again a sudden temptation arose to have the ‘pani puris’. Waited for the rain to stop and stepped out of the house in search of the ‘panipuriwaala’. Just next to my street on the main road are 2-3 of them. Circling around the stand were 4 of us with our plates. Gulping one paani puri, waiting for another round I savoured them. My soul was filled with the satisfaction after gulping 10 of those and then one “Churmur Chaat“.

While having those pani puris, I was remembering the paani puri bhaiya who used to have stall at our school. I know him for now 21 long years. Still his face is fresh in my mind and the speed with which he used to serve those pani puris.

Flashback…

A man with his thela( its a vehicle with four wheels and gets pushed to move) which carried a box full of paani puri and few other vessels enters the main gate of the school. Pushes his vehicle till the big playground under a tree and places his gaadi with other gaadi of Dosa/Idli and icecream waala. Little girls playing in the playground turn their faces as if waiting for him, runs towards him and stands around the gaadi in a circle. Atleast 20 of them around the gaadi and bhaiya in the center with his fast moving hands serving one by one. You will not believe but by the time you are still relishing the first paani puri, he would have placed the second one. The fast moving hands were so good at their work.

Enjoyed the 10 years of his paani puri when I was in school. Seen the price rise from 4 pieces for 25 paise to 2 pieces for 2 rupees but he continued serving with the same speed and same taste. In those days there was not much concept of  pocket money. I used to cycle to school , so I used to get some money for the puncture , air filling etc. Saving from those or sometimes faking a puncture would arrange for the pani puri.

Till 2 years back I met him and tasted his pani puris. We knew the place where he used to place his gaadi in the evening after school. Whenever we went back from our college we used to visit him and he would also recognize our faces with his old eyes. And still served with the same dedication.

I am sure all the Notre Dame Students from Patna would remember him. Sometimes people who might not be anything to us might be something and we might have lots of memories around them. I know you will not read this but we really enjoyed your pani puri :). Your memories dominates a great part of our school life. And now I realize that whenever I have gone with any of my friends to have pani puri at other places I have always mentioned about you telling I have never  tasted the ones by you and the speed with which you served.

Back to the Present…

Oh that was only the first pani puri that I gulped. It got digested too and now the time for the second piece. Another customer standing there says “Sir mere ko akele alag se khilao. Mazaa nahi aa raha hai. Wo jaldi jaldi khilao to mazaa aata hai.” (Sir please serve me separately. I am not able to enjoy. If you serve fast then it is fun). I give him a smile and walk away.

Just a post remembering someone. 🙂

Written by Priyanka Varma

October 10, 2011 at 6:25 pm

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely post Priyanka; and with all the good words about Bhayya, the readers deserve to know his name 😀
    This reminds me of my school where a fellow who was popularly called as “Thamdya” (Marathi) used to serve chatpatha stuff to the kids in the playground. 🙂

    Keep eating pani puris and keep writing 😀

    Prashant Kulli

    October 11, 2011 at 5:25 am

    • Thanks for reading Prashant. Its very ironic that I do not know his name after knowing him for 21 years. While writing the post yesterday I was pressing myself hard to remember but I guess I never asked his name. Really sad from my part ..Sometimes we give a name and never try to know their real name 😦

      Priyanka Varma

      October 11, 2011 at 6:25 am

  2. Food and smell evokes the best of nostalgia .. We all have our pani puri bhaiyyas and vada mamas(chacha)

    Nice blog !

    Vinod Iyer

    October 29, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    • Thanks Vinod

      Priyanka Varma

      October 29, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      • that is real interesting. and the thing is that it has 4 names in 4 different places. panipuri golgappa phuchka and gupchup. in maharashtra its panipuri in orissa its called gupchup bt in which 2 other places its called as golgappa and phuchka? if anyone knows please do reply. eager to know as am a diehard fan of this splendid roadside item which has its own terrifying taste and stands so special among the aam admi!! happy eating:)

        aaryan

        October 31, 2011 at 4:44 pm

        • sry, jst forgot to mention.. it was gr8 going thru d blog. gud n interesting. takecare n happy eating:)

          aaryan

          October 31, 2011 at 4:56 pm

        • Thanks aaryan 🙂

          Priyanka Varma

          November 1, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  3. Wow…!!Beautiful post..!!Nice to read..!!Thanks for sharing..!!

    wayanad resorts

    November 14, 2011 at 4:45 am

  4. Thank you for sharing and I want to share information about Madras Bistro which offer a wide range of delicious North and South Indian vegetarian dishes. Situated in the heart of Bergen County, Madras Bistro is located in Hackensack, NJ.

    Inian Restaurant NJ

    August 14, 2012 at 11:53 am

  5. Thank you for sharing and I want to share information about Madras Bistro which offers a wide range of delicious North and South Indian vegetarian dishes. Situated in the heart of Bergen County, Madras Bistro is located in Hackensack, NJ.

    Indian Food NJ

    December 13, 2012 at 1:23 pm

  6. hi, really nyc post.. i was in notre dame patna too.. i can remeber him so well. the food.. that taste.. n i remember he used to serve chunmun too..after dat i have never tasted that food ever again. i miss dose days so badly. itz bin so long.. but i still cherish dose memories.. playground.. tree.. idli, dosa , chunmun n gupchup..

    Surabhi Sinha

    June 5, 2014 at 10:20 am

  7. I used to wait for that Puchka waale bhaiyya everyday, even after these many years, traveling and studying in different states, I have realised that nobody can ever make those puchkas taste that good ever again , it’s been more than 15 years now , I reminisce about my childhood days and remember how lovingly he used to serve us, he used to give one more dish, chunmun I guess, I am not able to recall it now but yes I still remember that taste, I never found that again in of the cities I lived.
    Thankyou for writing this post and for bringing out the most beautiful memories of those times ❤️

    Surabhi Sinha

    November 30, 2022 at 5:20 pm


Leave a comment